INTRODUCTION

Unlike an exemption which discharges a tax
obligation, Clause 41A permits an elderly
taxpayer to defer payment of property taxes
which ultimately must be paid to the
community upon the death of the taxpayer
or sale of the property. This statute enables
a taxpayer to use funds which otherwise
would go to pay real estate taxes for other
important expenses. A taxpayer who is
eligible for a personal exemption (e.g. Cl. 41
Elderly Person or Cl.22, Military) is allowed
to keep the exemption and defer the
remaining taxes leaving a smaller amount to
be repaid by their heirs.

A qualified applicant must enter into a
written tax deferral and recovery agreement
with the town’s assessors who will record
the agreement at the Registry of Deeds.
The recorded agreement is a lien that must
be satisfied before the property can
change hands. Joint owners and mortgagees
must give prior written approval.

APPLICATIONS

An applicant must satisfy tests relating to
age, domicile, ownership and occupancy and
income.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Age — An applicant must be at least 65 years
of age as of July 1%t of the tax year.

Domicile — An applicant must have had a
domicile or legal home in Massachusetts for
the preceding ten years and must be domiciled
as of July 1%t in the property which is the
subject of the application.

Ownership and Occupancy - An applicant
must have owned and occupied the subject
property or other real property in the
Commonwealth as a domicile for at least 5
years.

The applicant may own the property with their
spouse or as a tenant in common with a person
not their spouse.

A surviving spouse who qualifies may
continue to defer taxes but must enter into a
new tax deferral and recovery agreement. A
surviving spouse who inherits the property
must have occupied it or other real property in
Massachusetts as a domicile for 5 years. Any
additional taxes plus interest deferred by the
surviving spouse together with the amounts
previously deferred and unpaid may not exceed
50 percent of the surviving spouse’s
proportional share of the fair cash value of the

property.

The holder of a life estate satisfies the ownership
requirement for a tax deferral.

If the domicile is held in a trust, a person can
only satisfy the ownership interest if he or she:

1. Is a trustee or co-trustee of that trust

and
2. Possesses a sufficient beneficial interest in the
domicile through that trust (Splitting the interest
between multiple trusts does not qualify.)

Gross Receipts - An applicant’s gross receipts
from all sources cannot exceed $35,000.
Ordinary business expenses and losses may be
deducted but not personal or family expenses.

DEFERRAL AMOUNT

A taxpayer who qualifies may defer payment of
all or a portion of the taxes each year at 8
percent simple interest, provided the deferred
taxes and accrued interest do not exceed 50
percent of the applicant’s proportional share of
the fair cash value of the property.



DOCUMENTATION

An applicant for deferral must furnish whatever
information is reasonably necessary to determine
eligibility under the terms of the statute. For
example, the assessors may request:

1. Birth certificate

2. Evidence of domicile, ownership, and
occupancy

3. Income tax returns

PAYMENT

The payment of taxes and accrued interest is due
upon the sale of the property or the death of the
applicant unless the applicant’s surviving spouse
remains in the home. When payment becomes
due, interest increases to 16% until the deferred
amount plus interest is paid in full. Payment
must be made within 6 months of becoming due.

PLEASE READ AND UNDERSTAND:

This is a partial summary of the law as it is
understood by the Oak Bluffs Assessing
Department; it is not a substitute for competent
legal advice and your personal knowledge.
Please read the law carefully and consult a legal
expert before entering into a deferral and
recovery agreement. The agreement is a contract
the terms of which are dictated by statute and
cannot be waived by any government employee
regardless of the circumstances.

FOR FURTHER
INFORMATION CONTACT:

Town of Oak Bluffs
Assessing Department
56 School Street
PO Box 1327
Oak Bluffs, MA 02557
508-693-3554

Ext. 150

TAXPAYER’S GUIDE TO
REAL ESTATE TAX
DEFERRALS
IN MASSACHUSETTS

CLAUSE 41A

With Locally Approved
Options
Town of Oak Bluffs

Revised 7/2016

PERSONS
65 YEARS OR OLDER






