Capital Program Committee

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


  • Bill Vrooman, Chair
    Town Moderator appointee
  • Greg Thorton
    Selectmen appointee
  • Maura McGroarty
    Finance Committee appointee
  • Robert Fehl, Vice Chair
    Selectmen appointee
  • T. Ewell Hopkins
    Planning Board appointee
  • John Newsom
    Selectmen appointee
  • Bob Whritenour
    Town Administrator, ex officio


The Capital Program Committee exists to prepare an annual Capital Improvement Plan for Oak Bluffs and to consult with the Town's financial groups regarding Capital Improvement Fund Policy and Debt Policy.

Capital Projects

The Capital Improvement Plan includes capital projects from all areas of Town life - Town departments, Wastewater, Oak Bluffs School, and the Water District. In areas where capital spending is governed by boards other than the Board of Selectmen, the projects are listed for informational purposes so that town voters can understand Oak Bluffs' full capital spending plan.

Capital Spending

The Plan itemizes capital spending for the next 5 fiscal years and includes supporting data such as start-up and ongoing maintenance cost estimates, method of financing, and recommended time schedules. It is prepared in collaboration with all town departments and boards that sponsor capital projects. A public hearing about the proposed capital plan is conducted before a final plan is adopted each year.

Committee Membership

The 6 members of the Capital Program Committee are appointed by the Board of Selectmen (3), the Finance and Advisory Committee (1), the Planning Board (1), and the Moderator (1). The Town Administrator is a non-voting ex officio member of the committee.

Capital Improvement Plans