Parks & Recreation

The Parks & Recreation facilities at Niantic Park for pickle ball, tennis, basketball & the playground are closed. All ball fields are closed. The Skate Park is closed. These areas will remained closed during Phase 1 of re-opening guidelines from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (see below).

There will be no basketball camp at Niantic Park in 2020.

No dogs are allowed on public beaches from May 15th through September 15th between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. and on Inkwell Beach between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Animals must be under control of owner and all waste properly removed.

No dogs are allowed at Niantic Park playground.

Weddings & Special Events Reservations

The Ocean Park Bandstand, East Chop Lighthouse and other park space is available for weddings and other events. Applicants must complete the appropriate event form and return it to the Parks Commissioners for review.

Applications and the $200 deposit are due 10 days prior to a Parks Commission meeting. 
See the Parks Commission page for meeting dates.

Note: Sailing Camp Park is managed by the Conservation Commission:


  • Fee for small events (weddings, clambakes, etc): Minimum of $300
  • Fee for large events: Minimum of $1,000 per day
  • Fee for Town events: varies

For all events, there will be a $200 deposit; which will be nonrefundable once application is approved by Commissioners. Balance will be due no later than 30 days prior to the event. If unable to use park area due to rain, the Park and Recreation Department will refund money except deposit.

No large organized events (50+ people) will be allowed in July or August in Waban/Alley Park 

Please review the Special Event Check List below before submitting your application to the Parks Commission.
Note: The Park Commission retains the right to waive any and all fees


Massachusetts guidelines & Parks & Recreation By-Laws and documents